Pakistan vs Sri Lanka 2nd Test Day 4 Highlights - 9 October, 2017

Pakistan vs Sri Lanka 2nd Test Day 4 Highlights. Second test D/N from Dubai International Cricket Stadium (United Arab Emirates) Saturday 9th October 2017.

Sri Lanka 482 & 34/5 (14.3 ov) – Pakistan 262 & 32/1 (22.2 ov, target 317)
(Day 4 Session 2: Pakistan require another 281 runs with 9 wickets remaining)

Pakistan vs Sri Lanka 2nd Test Day 4 Highlights

Day 4 highlights from the 2nd Test between Pakistan and Sri Lanka taking place at Dubai.

Pakistan continued their dramatic surge into the Dubai Test in the first 70 minutes of play, but lost opener Sami Aslam before tea, in the chase of 317. Still, having blasted Sri Lanka out for 96 in the second innings, Pakistan are very much in the hunt for a series-squaring victory. At the crease were Azhar Ali and Shan Masood, both of whom have scored hundreds in epic fourth-innings chases against Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka will be hoping there is no repeat of Pallekele 2015, or Sharjah 2014. Pakistan would wish to avoid running aground on Rangana Herath’s spin, as they did just one week ago at Abu Dhabi.

It was the inscrutable Wahab Riaz who had been the primary architect of Sri Lanka’s slide late on day three, and Wahab again who recommenced the wicket-taking on the fourth day. He had been struck for four boundaries by Niroshan Dickwella, whose response to almost any match situation is to attack. Bowling from around the wicket, however, Wahab had Dickwella edge a delivery angled sharply across him, and thanks to Sarfraz Ahmed’s athletic one-handed take, secured Sri Lanka’s sixth wicket. Dilruwan Perera was out next over to that other great destroyer: Yasir Shah. Not picking the flipper, he was pinned in front of the stumps.

Match Details

Series: Sri Lanka tour of United Arab Emirates and Pakistan 2017
Toss: Sri Lanka , elected to bat first
Match Days 06,07,08,09,10 October 2017 – day/night match (5-day match)
Test debut S Samarawickrama & PLS Gamage
Umpires: Richard Kettleborough & Nigel Llong
TV Umpires: Sundaram Ravi,
Reserve Umpire: Shozab Raza

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft

Sri Lanka have won the toss and will bat first.

Pakistan team/playing XI
Shan Masood, Sami Aslam, Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Sarfraz Ahmed (c) †, Mohammad Amir, Yasir Shah, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Abbas.

Sri Lanka team/playing XI
FDM Karunaratne, JK Silva, S Samarawickrama, BKG Mendis, LD Chandimal (c), N Dickwella †, MDK Perera, HMRKB Herath, RAS Lakmal, PLS Gamage, ANPR Fernando.